Emerald

Hello All You Lovely Emeralds.

If you would like share an activity with me please send a photo. I am available via email if you have anything you wish to share or talk about  – hbishop@educ.somerset.gov.uk

There are lots of things to do in your home-learning pack that we sent home. Keep reading daily to keep improving your skills.
You also have a book for writing. Write me a story or make a fact file - may be you could write me an email telling me all about what you've been doing. Remember your spelling and punctuation.
There's also some handwriting sheet for you to practise your writing. You  could re-write a piece of your own writing or choose a piece of text to copy onto the handwriting paper. You will need to use a pen rather than a pencil with the handwriting paper because pencil doesn’t show on the yellow area! 
I understand that some of you will be eager to do more learning and this is a great opportunity to find out about something you are interested in. Below are some links which provide a wide range of resources. You may need to ask someone at home to help you make an account so you can use some of these websites, but they are all free.

READING
Epic   - https://www.getepic.com/sign-in
Lots of books to read – many with a quiz at the end
Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/
A website with interactive books and reading activities to share with your child at home.
Phonics Play - https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk/
You can choose to subscribe to Phonics Play or there are a number of free games and activities to use.
 

MATHS
Times Tables Rockstars – https://play.ttrockstars.com/auth/school/student
When you login in, you will be asked which school you go to. Start to type in Abbas and the school name in full will appear and can be selected.
Every child has a login which is the first 3 letters of both first and surname – all lower case.
Eg  - Fred Bloggs would be freblo
Password for all children is - atp
Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org/
Good for maths and computing for primary age children. Note this uses the U.S. grade system but it's mostly common material.
Prodigy Maths - https://www.prodigygame.com/
Is in U.S. grades, but good for UK Primary age.
Numberblocks - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/shows/numberblocks
An excellent resource, including episodes, to secure basis understanding of number and number patterns.

 

SCIENCE
Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com/lessons/seasonal/current-events
Free science lessons
Crash Course Kids - https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids?app=desktop
Quite high level Science for those who have an interest.
Crest Awards - https://www.crestawards.org/which-level
Science awards you can complete from home.
Nature Detectives - https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2020/03/kids-nature-activities-self-isolation/
A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!
 
COMPUTING
Blockly - https://blockly.games/
Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.
Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/
Creative computer programming
 

LANGUAGES
Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com/learn
Learn languages for free. Web or app.
 

ART
The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/
Good, free art activities
Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com/
Easy arts and crafts for little ones
The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com/
Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

GENERAL
ICT Games - http://www.ictgames.com/
Some excellent English and Maths resources and games.
BBC Learning - https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/primary
This site is old and no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No TV licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.
National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/
Activities and quizzes for younger kids.
Cbeebies Radio  - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio
Listening activities for the younger ones.
Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html
Geography gaming!
Toy Theater - https://toytheater.com/
Educational online games
DK Find Out - https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/
Activities and quizzes
Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk/
Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.